It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people are risk-takers, while others tend to play it safe. The importance of risk-taking in all aspects of people ’s lives can hardly be overestimated, whether it is about careers or casual daily activities. Although there are both advantages and disadvantages associated with taking risks, I claim that the negative aspects take precedence over the pros. On the one hand, people who take risks can achieve more. The history is full of examples of famous persons, who decided to quit a stable job and to open a privet business and succeeded, such as Steve Jobs and Walt Disney. Another example can be people who win the lottery or play in the stock market, even though gambling is associated with risk-taking, the prize can be substantially rewarding. In addition, some hobbies that include risky activities make our lives more colourful, like skiing or skydiving. However, there are some disadvantages when it comes to risk-taking, as only a few can enjoy the outcome. Firstly, on one famous successful businessman, there are thousands of less lucky, who lost everything, as they have quit their jobs or as they have invested money in a risky business. Similarly, the chance to win the lottery or on the stock exchange is minor, so most individuals just take unjustified risks by paying money for the illusion of getting rich quickly and easily. Further, risky sports often result in injury or may even take life. Finally, risk-taking behaviour develops an addiction and causes people to look for more and more dangerous projects. In conclusion, nevertheless sometimes taking risks can significantly improve people ’s lives, there are a plethora of disadvantages that outweigh the positive aspects. Only a limited amount of people can get the desired result, and the rest will suffer from unexpected or harmful outcomes.