In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause? suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of the ageing populations.

In recent years, developed countries have witnessed a steady increase in the average life expectancy of populations. Therefore, the potential challenges posed by an ageing population are inevitable. However, I believe that countries can mitigate the possible adverse consequences by implementing the necessary measures. A progressively elderly population has several critical implications for society and the economy. The major problem that countries have to deal with is a shrinking workforce which leads to a decline in productivity, increased labour costs, and delays in the expansion of businesses. Furthermore, with workers retiring out of the workforce at an unprecedented rate, governments face an increased burden upon the healthcare system, with chronic diseases and health issues related to senior citizens becoming extremely prevalent. Several steps could be taken to provide a resolution to the challenges mentioned above. Firstly, governments should introduce a policy of phased retirement and extend the retirement age from 65 to 70 by prompting older workers to continue a healthy and efficacious life. This would also lessen the pressures on the workforce and the economy. Likewise, burdens on the healthcare system could be lessened by augmenting the healthcare budget and supplementing government healthcare with the contribution of the private sector in providing care and support to an ageing population. Lastly, encouraging local involvement in volunteering, care, and artistic activities with the elderly can make them feel included and comforted while having immense social and economic benefits and alleviating some of the problems related to aged populations. To sum up, there are several problems that are generated by the increase in average life expectancy in developed nations. However, if governments work together with the community to solve these problems, eventually, the challenges will be overcome