Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rates?

In many parts of the world, especially in urban areas, the rate of criminal activities is on the rise, causing detrimental effects on both society and individuals. Among the reasons behind a high level of committed offences, I think economic inequality and white-collar criminal activities could be the core causes which will be curbed with feasible solutions. To begin with, poverty and unemployment can be the main reasons for crime. Given that countries with high rates of economic deprivation tend to witness higher crime rates than other countries. As living expenditure, namely healthcare, education, and accommodation is believed to be higher in urban places, unemployed people tend to offend illegal activities as a last resort to secure a living. This inequality would bring in the ever-increasing gap between the rich and the poor by deteriorating the current economic inequality. As a result, this would leave the youth frustrated who might feel resentment towards the system and resort to criminal activities. In addition to this, due to expensive living in cities, white-collar crimes often occur by high-ranked employees. Some examples would be embezzling, tax evasion, violating tax laws or corruption. Such crimes, though not gruesome, are still extremely negative to society, causing an economic recession. As for the practical remedies to eliminate the high rate of crime, firstly, the government should step in and reduce economic unbalance. To be precise, as unemployment and criminal tendencies are correlated, unemployed citizens should be provided with stable incomes or jobs which ensure the poor would get access to basic necessities and amenities for a living. Besides creating job opportunities, bridging the gap between the rich and the poor would not only curb social discrimination, but would also work as an efficient deterrent to crime in such scenarios. Secondly, the prevention against white-collar criminals should be applied. To explain it, the government ought to strengthen punishment by penalizing all the white–collar offenders because of the disruption of their duties. These would include ranging from dismissing their jobs to even sentencing if the damage is huge. These law-enforcement penalties would act as a deterrent for the people who are in respectable positions. In conclusion, the fundamental root to commit crimes in urban spots could be the high rate of unemployment and illegal activities by white-collar workers. However, by implementing practical approaches, the government can lessen the negative consequences of crimes.