It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, having a gap year before commencing higher studies is growing rather common among teenagers. Several are the benefits that youngsters can attain from this decision, however, there could also be some drawbacks to having a year off school. To elaborate, if students were to wait for a full year before enrolling on university, they could properly use that time to analyze life paths and make wiser educational choices. For instance, recent studies have shown that those who had the chance to deeply think about their career path in their youth, were the ones with higher job prospects after their graduation. Additionally, those who would decide to travel in that year off could potentially interact with foreign societies and gain further cultural knowledge which would prove fundamental to their self-development. However, becoming economically independent in that time off could discourage adolescents from going back to school. The taste of financial freedom could entice youth to continue working to obtain more money instead of wasting their time attending a course. For example, last year in the US the percentage of kids that returned to academic courses after a gap year was half the total amount of those who graduated the previous year. Furthermore, while travelling people usually forget how to efficiently perform at school as they are mostly focused on enjoying their new experiences. Such loss of academic practice could result in increasing numbers of students dropping out of educational institutions. To conclude, even though many benefits arise from taking a year off before starting higher studies, a fair number of disadvantages could also emerge from this trend. Acquiring new jobs and the loss of academic performance could prevent former pupils from pursuing further education.