Tobacco should be treated as illegal like other drugs. Smoking has not a single positive issue but lots of negative effects and therefore, it should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the above statement.

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-increasing number of individuals urging their governments to prohibit tobacco by legislation. Undoubtedly, smoking cigarettes could lead to a detrimental influence on personal health. Therefore, I agree with the statement and I will explain the reasons in this essay. To begin with, it is axiomatic that cigarettes pose an imminent threat to both smokers and non-smokers since nicotine which is a major ingredient in cigarettes could devastate one's respiratory system, particularly those individuals suffering from asthma. Moreover, second -hand smoke is proven to be more hazardous than first -hand smoke. To illustrate, the University of Hong Kong conducted a research concerning the negative effects of second -hand smoke in 2010. In that research, over 90% of people who had a family member smoking on a daily basis suffered from different respiratory diseases. Furthermore, the increased financial burden on governments is associated with the diseases arising from smoking. For instance, the Australian government announced an increase of $12 million in the budget for improving their healthcare system to combat lung cancer amongst smokers two years ago. Notwithstanding the fact that the tax collected from tobacco companies plays a pivotal role in a country's income, society is incidentally paying more money for curbing the negative impacts of smoking. In essence, smoking puts a nation's expenditure on medical costs in jeopardy. To summarise, the notorious impacts arising from tobacco could be extremely destructive to humans' well-being. As a result, I largely agree that tobacco ought to be deemed as perilous as drugs, and governments shall be accountable for the legislation.