More and more plastic are polluting the oceans. What problems are caused by plastic waste? What can be done to solve this problem?

In recent decades, most people understand the importance of recycling materials such as glass, plastic and cartons which helps to reduce our impact on the environment. However, the population across the world do not recycle their waste which often ends up in the oceans. This essay will discuss the effects caused by plastic waste and how this problem can be alleviated. The reasons associated with plastic waste management are plentiful; firstly, the degradation of polythene takes many years, due to which the habitat of sea creatures is destroyed. For an instance, the polymers which often dumped into oceans are sometimes can get stuck into the fins of dolphins, thereby restricting their motion. The second reason is that the small plastic materials discarded into the sea are sometimes consumed by the small fish and thus enter into the food chain of their system. To take an example, reports show that humans consume approximately 3 grams of nano elastic particles every year through food. This results in severe illness and health issues. From my perspective, there are a few measures to be taken for plastic waste management. In order to reduce polymer waste, the government can opt for recycling methods. Several initiatives can be taken by authorities such as comprehensive public campaigns on recycling. Another way to encourage the public is to use more ecological sustainable materials instead of using plastic. To help with the costs, the government should provide various means namely recycling bin bags and frequent collections arrangement. To conclude, elastic materials disbursed into oceans have major effects on health and the environment. Encouraging the public to follow some rules which benefit our environment and offering some free resources can reduce the negative consequences.