Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business, and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Disseminating information has been one of the distinctive characteristics of the modern world. Some argue for the unrestricted sharing of information in scientific, business and academic areas to make knowledge in such fields widely accessible to people across different divides. However, I disagree and believe a more restrained and regulated procedure of sharing information is advisable. Making as much information as possible in scientific, business, and academic areas accessible to people across geographical boundaries contributes to the improvement of people ’s literacy in science and their acumen in commerce. If people can have free and unlimited access to as many resources in such areas as they need, everyone craving knowledge and information will have the chance to satisfy their intellectual needs. Students will be better equipped to carry out their research projects by having a wellspring of academic resources at their disposal, not to mention the people working in the business sectors of the society being able to avail themselves of the latest commercial and trade trends in the world of business. This ultimately results in educating more literate and informed citizens who will be encouraged to use the acquired information to benefit both themselves and their society. Ever since the advent of the World Wide Web and the overflow of information being made more extensively available to people around the world, many people, from different corners, have managed to improve their academic, scientific and business status. However, I believe if the reins on information in science, business, and academia are wantonly loosened, valuable information, for the acquisition of which years have been spent, will, in the foreseeable future, be taken for granted. The far-reaching implication of such unrestrained availability of precious informative data is that people who have become used to freely consuming invaluable information will forget to give proper reference and credit to the original source of its generation. Accordingly, genius researchers and scientists will gradually lose vigour and incentive to dedicate themselves and their intellectual capacity to pushing back the frontiers of knowledge in different scientific fields. Russian-backed websites such as Lib-Gen and Sci-Hub have illegally given public users unlimited access to innumerable scientific articles, without even charging the downloaders any subscription or entry fee. This might initially seem a benevolent act of sharing information with the entire world, but the consequences associated with the trivialization of valuable information and the researchers losing their credit will be far more harmful than beneficial. In conclusion, it is very necessary and useful to make information in science, business, and academia accessible, but this accessibility should not be indiscriminate and unrestricted because the credit of the ones responsible for the generation of such information will gradually go unappreciated and unrecognized, resulting in the demotivation of researchers and scientists.