Some people think that if a country is already rich, further economic development will not result in its citizens being any happier. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that further economic development in already riched countries would not make their citizen happy. This essay completely agrees with the statement as this condition will increase the workload of working citizens and income inequality will be seen. An economically developed country means more workload to its residents. That is to say that the economy would demand more workload and long working hours from the people as a result time spent with families will be suffered leading to unhappiness. For example, China manufacturing companies have employees working 12 hours per shift six days a week. However, people do enjoy the lifestyle provided by the economically stable country, but increased work demand would lead to decreased happiness. Another reason why the economical richer countries cannot provide happiness is because of the fact that it creates a large income gap among companies. To be more clear, the senior management team gets higher pay with bonuses, but the ground-level employers get minimum or no increment in their wages. For instance, Amazon's workers, who are working in factories are paid $15 per hour, whereas the net worth of their CEO increases after every few months. This shows that the higher the position, the more paid salary. In conclusion, despite the economical stability would provide a better lifestyle to the people, it will increase the workload of those around as well as the income gap, which will make the people around unhappy.