Films and computer games which contain violence are very popular. Some people believe they have a negative effect on society and so should be banned. Other people, however, say they are just harmless and help people to relax. Discuss both these points of view and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, it is undeniable that films and computer games containing violence have become increasingly popular. Some people argue that such content has negative effects on society and should be banned, while others believe that it is harmless and can even help people relax. In this essay, an attempt will be made to examine both perspectives. Those who support banning violent content provide some reasons to justify their view. One of the most apparent reasons is that exposure to violence may influence behaviour, particularly among young people. To illustrate, repeated exposure to aggressive scenes can normalise violent actions and reduce sensitivity to real-life consequences. For instance, children who frequently play violent games may imitate such behaviour or develop aggressive attitudes. In addition, excessive consumption of violent media may contribute to fear, anxiety, and social problems. Those who disagree with the above idea also have some points that should not be overlooked. One major reason is that violent films and games can serve as a form of entertainment and stress relief. To clarify, many individuals are able to distinguish between fiction and reality and use these forms of media to relax after a long day. For example, adults may enjoy action films or games without any negative impact on their behaviour. Furthermore, strict regulation rather than complete prohibition can allow people to enjoy such content responsibly. To recapitulate, it is evident that violent media may have negative effects, especially on younger audiences, while it can also provide entertainment and relaxation for others. Having considered both sides thoroughly, I have personally come to believe that banning such content is not necessary, but appropriate regulation and guidance are essential to minimise potential harm.