Nowadays people are spending more time in workplace and staying away from home for work. Discuss its advantages and disadvantages with your own experiences.

These days, it is undeniable that more and more workers are choosing to work for longer hours to secure a prosperous lifestyle. Several advantages arise from this trend, however, many problems such as exhausted workers and disconnection among family members could also emerge from it. To elaborate, spending long hours at work not only contributes to obtaining a higher income but also helps professionals to attain top-level skills. In Argentina, for example, law graduates often tend to stay in their workplace up until late hours to keep up with their mentors and prove their worth. In addition, overtime and penalty rates are what many employees seek in order to increase their monthly wages. Owing to the recent economic downturn, most salaries are insufficient to make a prosperous living which results in more people working extra terms than ever before. On the other hand, I believe that working for extensive periods of time could also be the cause of exhaustion and other health problems. For instance, research has shown that many physical ailments that affect young professionals are inextricably related to their extensive workloads. If employees continue to prioritise their careers and take no time to rest many more diseases could impact their health. Furthermore, depraving professionals from spending moments at home could create a separation between parents and their offspring which could create irreversible future outcomes. To conclude, even though spending more time at work than at home results in greater professional skills and extra dollars gained at the end of the month, the consequences of this habit are too great to dismiss. Individuals should prioritise their health and families in order to secure a healthy lifestyle.