Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In this contemporary era, the development of new technologies, and devices have grown stunningly. Due to this fact children have become more settled down rather than having physical activities. The misuse of new devices such as computers and smartphones become a worrying case which parents are facing nowadays. In this approach of reading, I will negotiate the negative effects which I think outweigh the positive points of the issue. First of all, there is no doubt that using new devices is unavoidable, besides, using smartphones, especially by youngsters for a long period of time certainly causes some major problems for their health. For instance, recent research showed that the more hours students use their phones the more reduction in their eyesight and their concentration is sensible, and the cause of this is the long time they stare at their phone display without noticing the time passed. Additionally, pupils use their smartphones for almost all their daily chores and this lead to diseases such as mental problems, behaviour anomalies and physical asthenia. If the hours of using smartphones by children are not controlled by their parents, they would not realize how much time has passed since they used their facilities, because of the user-friendly interfaces and the entertaining environment those devices have. Hence, this will lead to problems like obesity which might be the main reason for lateral sicknesses in future. For example, one of my cousins who is only 13 years old suffers from a high volume of bad fat in his body, because of a long time spent at home doing all his chores online, even his school courses which are held on the internet platform due to the recent Covid19 pandemic. To sum up, although some positive points can be argued while new technologies help us to do our work in a more convenient way, on the other side, the negative effect of a long time uses of such devices like smartphones by the young generation shall be considered as a serious subject. Putting a limitation on working hours may be the best way to decrease the negative points of this development.