In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, there is a trend of migrating to urban areas from rural areas which is actually an alarming situation as it is the reason for the falling population in those rural areas. In my opinion, this trend causes several negative impacts on the country and the essay will depict those points. It can not be denied that there are some advantages of moving to cities from rural areas of a country. First of all, city life offers more facilities to its population. For example, cities are far ahead of the villages in case of better education, lifestyle and communication. While it is obvious that the city dwellers can easily access those advantages which the village people find very difficult to get, cities are also superior to the rural areas in case of better transportation system. But, on the other hand, leaving rural areas for good is not recommended at all. To support this statement, I think that village areas are the powerhouses of a country. Most of the basic goods are produced in those areas which can not be produced in cities. Moreover, if the economy of a country is dependent on the agricultural sector, the odds favour the villagers as they are the producers of the most valuable products which are agricultural goods. To cite an example, most of the agricultural countries depend on their countryside for the development of their agriculture. So, if the population of villages declines day by day, there will be a crisis of workforce which will bring an enormous negative impact on the overall production which will hamper the growth of production. Another point is that, migrating to cities causes increased population density which ultimately lowers the quality of lifestyles and the city people suffer from lots of drawbacks. In conclusion, In my opinion, the negative impacts of migration from the rural areas to the cities outweigh the positive sides. So, the policymakers should take necessary steps to develop the rural areas in order to stop people from moving to the urban areas.