Humans are basically selfish. Write an essay about 300 words to state that whether you agree or disagree. Provide examples and illustrations to support your viewpoint.

It is highly debatable nowadays is being selfish good or bad. Being selfish is in our nature, and it does not always mean that a person who can not care about others must be judged by society. I would personally agree with the statement, but where is the line between being self-oriented or people-oriented, we will try to see further. There are several reasons for being selfish, which people are generally born with. It is widely known, that every individual has his or her basic needs such as security and essential comfort, and if the adult lacks it, all the family may lose because of this. For instance, while turbulence in the plane a parent has to put on the mask first and then provide the mask to the kid, otherwise they both may suffer. On the contrary, we can see many bright examples when a personality gave everything to the community denying his or her own needs. For example when a rescuer risks his life for getting travellers out of trouble, or a person in the concentration camp killed the watchman for other prisoners to be saved. Those are outstanding deeds made by a man of great courage and heart. To sum up, I generally agree that people are basically selfish, but I don't think this is that awful. We must use common sense while evaluating the consequences of what we are doing and try to keep the balance of self-comfort and the gratitude we give to the world.