Junk food advertising has a harmful effect on society and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recent decades have witnessed an ever-increasing number of parents disallowing their offspring to eat fast food, such as french fries and hamburgers, owing to the fact that junk food could lead to severe health problems. In this sense, I am inclined to agree that the advertisements made by fast food restaurants ought to be prohibited. To begin with, it is axiomatic that plenty of sodium, sugar and oil are added to fast food, and these ingredients could result in high blood pressure, obesity and heart disease. Notwithstanding the fact that advertising does not attribute to these hazardous health issues, it appeals to a staggering number of individuals to intake unhealthy cuisine on a daily basis. Apparently, advertising stimulates people's expenditure on a particular product. To exemplify, the University of Hong Kong conducted a research concerning individuals' spending and the impacts of watching TV commercials regularly. In the research, over 90% of interviewees expended more than expected after watching TV commercials. The advertisements, consequently, pose an imminent threat to people's well-being. Moreover, numerous scientists condemn those well-known fast meal restaurants for adding excessive additives to burgers which are perilous to children's brain development. For instance, they contended that if children are provided with junk food more than 3 times a week, their cognitive development will be 50% slower than children with healthful eating habits. Resultantly, parents ought to refrain the next generation from viewing advertisements in relation to fast food stores. To summarise, fundamental to the devastating health threats associated with junk food, I largely agree that fast food advertising should be banned by law. Governments are accountable for the legislation to prevent their citizens from eating too much unhealthful food, too.