Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that kids should be weaned to compete among themselves while others believe that kids who are trained to cooperate eventually become responsible adults. In my opinion, I believe when children are being raised, parents should teach them how to differentiate between where competition is required and where teamwork is needed. On one hand, many believe that making kids compete against each other is good and should be encouraged. There are myriad reasons kid competition is good. Firstly, every kid will strive to become the best in their endeavours. For example, in a class exam, every kid wants to score the highest mark in order to achieve the first position especially if it involves presenting gifts to the highest scorer. Therefore, kids who are raised to become competitive always have a feeling of leading others in activities. On the other hand, many believe that kids who are trained to work in a team are more useful when they grow up. For instance, playing in a football team requires teamwork to win any match. Therefore, kids that are used to this type of ethic will have a sense of helping other people when they grow up. Furthermore, the habit will help them in their career where teamwork is required to achieve job objectives. In my opinion, I believe weaning a kid with the teaching of being competitive or being a teamwork person should be done in a way the kid will be able to apply the two ethics to appropriate situations. In this instance, the kid will have a balance of judgment for situations. In conclusion, many thought it is better to raise kids to become competitive while others feel they should learn to work in a team. However, the weaning of the kids should be done so that they can make balance decisions in all their activities. This will make them more responsible adults in the future.