One of the most pressing problems facing the world today is overpopulation. What policies do you think governments should adopt to address the causes and effects of this problem?

Overpopulation is one of the most pressing problems facing the world today. Some of the major causes include increased life expectancy and decreased mortality rate, owing to better healthcare. In this essay, I will discuss and analyze the causes and effects of this problem. The global population has grown exponentially over the last 100 years. One of the main causes of this is better healthcare, improvements in the standards of living, improved affordability and increased life expectancy. In other words, most people nowadays could expect to live for more years up to 85 to 90 years. Moreover, a significant proportion of these people live below the poverty line and in unsanitary conditions. Another cause would be that developing economies like India and China have been the major contributors to this huge demand for energy. The major effects of this problem include increasing energy demand, rising fuel costs, more consumption of electricity and an increasing number of people who struggle to provide a quality life for their families. For example, people in some of the developing communities lack quality education to understand the harmful effects of overpopulation and there are many ailing patients to cater to in the hospitals. There are also improvements in the childbirth rate and a decrease in the mortality rate in these nations. Thus the government can provide adequate education through initiatives in every village and city through catchphrases to control the effects mentioned above. The government could also spread and evenly distribute the population in various cities by suggesting companies run offices in remote locations. Furthermore, this would greatly address the problem of densely populated towns and corners of the cities where some of the people would struggle for a living. For instance, pharmaceutical companies could also market products which could greatly reduce the challenges of unplanned pregnancies. In conclusion, after having carefully addressed the causes and effects of the problems of overpopulation, governments should take measures in bringing awareness to reduce the growth of the population and to improve the financial scenario in developing nations.