The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people believe that playing team sports at school is the best way to teach children to cooperate. In this, an essay I shall explore both sides of this opinion and then give my judgement to what extent I agree or disagree. Many believe that team sports are an effective way for a child to learn that cooperation and good communication are the keys to success when working together as a team. For example, many team sports, such as football and basketball, require effective communication and coordination between the whole team if they wish to win the game. Furthermore, this cooperation is taught in a manner which is fun and exciting to the child. Sports are just another form of playing games to children and therefore they often learn very valuable skills whilst also having a lot of fun at the same time. Yet, some people disagree and are worried that sports place a very high value on athleticism and competitive nature, thus for children who are not athletic or competitive team sports may, in fact, be a discouraging activity. One which they do not enjoy and thus is unlikely to produce good results. Furthermore, there are some children who may suffer from disabilities or illness which inhibits their ability to play sports. Therefore, it is very important that there are other effective methods to teach cooperation at school. In conclusion, I believe that both sides of the argument have their merit. However, the fact that not all children are able to engage in team sports or enjoy them is a very detrimental factor to its effectiveness in teaching children to cooperate. Therefore, I think it is important to consider other methods which may also be effective in teaching children to cooperate.