In some time countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Encouraging youth to do a job or migrate for one year after completing school courses and before commencing higher education is adopted by a few nations. This essay intends to explain some benefits and drawbacks for those who prefer to do that. To begin with, taking a gap year for work or travel has many advantages. One of them would be the invaluable experience they will get since they will learn new skills required for future jobs such as managing, communication, decision-making and problem-solving. This experience will be beneficial for youngsters as it will strengthen their curriculum vitae. Moreover, young people have chances to choose their line of the career which they want to pursue in future since they can analyse the pros and cons of a profession while working or travelling. Thus, having a year off is usually impacted positively and consequently, provides direction to them. On the other hand, a year off between studies has some disadvantages as well, like discontinuation of further studies as youngsters would get lured by the minimal wages they started earning while working which could shift their long-term focus to becoming independently. This would lead to diminishing the desire to continue their studies. For example, many students who are doing jobs for a few years before doing their master's studies, change their minds to learn again by quitting their current jobs which is a major hurdle in their development. Another negative effect is that some recruiting companies do not accept a gap period between studies, therefore less chance to get a stable job. In conclusion, despite the fact that youth may get distracted by a year off for work or travel which leads to the end of their further education yet, it makes the young minds gain some essential skills and can select their occupation more rigorously.