News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do you think that there is too much emphasis on bad news these days? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is undeniable that most of the news showcased on TV and in newspapers is selected by chief editors. While this selection is influenced by several factors, I believe that in most cases, negative developments are at the top of the list. To elaborate, editors usually tend to choose what news to broadcast according to people's demands. For instance, individuals are often keen to get informed on the latest news about crime so they can start their days with caution. In other words, citizens expect and demand specific information so that they can prepare for adversity. Additionally, making a profit is another reason why newspapers consider it more valuable to display impactful information instead of some news of lesser importance. On the other hand, even though many folks argue that most of the news in television and newspapers is depressive, I believe they are necessary. For example, owing to how fast the tremendous news about the Covid-19 pandemic travelled, many developed nations were already prepared with action plans and measures to fight it when their people got it. That is because bad news is the main factor in readiness when having to deal with hardship and thus people can endure after struggling only because they knew what was coming. To conclude, in spite of what most people would prefer, negative information is fundamental to society's growth. In my opinion, the more bad news people hear and read the more solutions they can consider to resolve the pressing issues of the world.