Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Art is surrounding our daily lives. Some may cherish the beauty of art around us and appreciate the meaning behind it, while others think that art is an unrealistic form of expression that distract humans from their existence. I strongly believe that art plays a major role in our day-to-day life by giving it meaningful stories and unforgettable memories. Art is a form of expression that can be used as a method of teaching and solving mental health issues. Moreover, art comes in different mediums such as book illustrations, paintings, sculptures and many others. Schools use art to narrate stories to children as well as to educate them about general topics that are challenging to grasp via reading or listening only. Drawings and pictures as a form of art can not only widen the child’s imagination, but help in the development of an adult’s cognitive skills too. In addition, mental health specialists use art to communicate with their patients. Some adults and youths can only express their hidden feelings through a form of art, which can help doctors to diagnose certain mental problems. Therefore, Art has the power to move individuals to social action, manipulate and influence, entertain, and educate. In rational to those who think art is disruptive. In my opinion, this notion may have emerged from people who are a one-sided view and are fully immersed in their job routine, and they become blind to gaze into the beautiful art they encounter. Furthermore, for those who argue that art is unreal, undoubtedly, art has recorded real history and brought us back in time to the ancient era, where engraved paintings were found in caves and historical stories were revealed. Despite all this, art in a few situations may be dangerous if emotions were negatively triggered and misused improperly. For example, the famous artist Van Gough cut off his ear to mimic the exact anatomy of it in his drawing. However, this incident cannot be generalized as the artist suffered from hallucinations in which he lost consciousness. Poetry, drama, music, painting, and dance, all stir up our emotions. All of the arts move people powerfully. They can strongly influence our behaviors, and even our character.