Some people believe that increasing tax on various industries will reduce pollution whereas others believe that there are better alternative ways. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

While some think there are superior alternatives, there are those who believe a reduction in pollution will result from imposing increased taxation on a variety of industries. Although an increase in tax is the quick and easy solution, in my opinion, other appropriate measures by the government will have a more considerable impact on reducing pollution in the environment. Admittedly, charging a higher levy on the major industrial polluters such as mining, manufacturing, chemical plants, and oil refineries will likely disincentive them to cause air, water and noise pollution; however, this provides a short-term solution. Due to the increase in operating costs because of the additional tax, companies that are affected will raise the price of commodities and pass on these extra charges to the consumer. If there is demand from the people despite the high prices, these sectors will continue to pollute the environment to produce these goods. According to the news report, the carbon tax imposed on Australia’s mining sector failed in its efficacy in curbing pollution. Therefore, I believe this does not solve the actual problem because industries will keep generating pollution to produce goods based on market forces and transfer any form of an increased cost of doing business to society. Whereas there are various better options to consider rather than increasing tax, the two points that can significantly benefit the environment are; renewable energy and strong government legislation. Moreover, providing substantial subsidies and incentives to companies to invest in renewable energy initiatives will lead to them installing solar solutions to generate green energy, reducing carbon pollution. A recent study found that many businesses in some countries are investing in these renewable systems to benefit from the subsidy and reduced energy costs. Another solution to consider in controlling pollution is legislating laws and regulations that restrict the amount of it that can be generated annually combined with strict waste disposal practices, such as implementing filtration and emission processes in the production line. I believe these actions will directly impact industries to re-engineer suitable environmental practices in their businesses. In conclusion, while some gains will be made in reducing pollution when industries face higher taxes, achieving a wide-scale reduction in the target levels will still be challenging. Therefore, considering the aforementioned arguments, the future will be much brighter if industries use renewable energy to power their sectors and the governments top it up with effective environmental laws.