Nowadays, distance-learning programs have gained in popularity, but some people argue that online courses can never be taken as good as those taken at a college or university in person. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, online learning systems have become more common. Some people think that distance learning will never be as great as face to face learning in tertiary institutions. I agree with this statement due to cost - effectiveness and time saving for distance learning. Firstly, time - saving is the main benefits of electronic learning. This is because teachers and students can be connected via online using Microsoft Teams and Zoom applications. Both students and teachers do not need to travel to campus every day for classes or lectures. They can just rely on a strong Internet connection and attend classes every day. For example, a mother of two can attend online classes on weekend. She can still goes to work on weekday. Secondly, cost - effectiveness is the second benefits of distance learning. A face to face learning is much more expensive than online courses. Also, on campus education needs to have a limited number of students in the class and campus facilities for students. Thus, all of these factors will be included in the tuition fees for physical classes. For example, an English course in British Council Malaysia costs around RM500 for distance learning and RM1600 for physical classes. Both fees are charged for 3 weeks lessons only which are a much big difference for two different modes of learning. In conclusion, cheaper tuition fees and time saving are two primary reasons on why e- learning education has become more common today. In my opinion, both modes of learning are the same as long as a student is interested and motivated to excel in studies. Any mode of learning would not be affected by the quality of education delivered to students in tertiary education.