Some people think that to be successful in sports natural ability is the main important reason others think that hard work and practice is more important Discuss both views with opinion

As with any human talent, it is often discussed what precisely turns an athlete into a successful one. Although natural ability alone may seem like the main factor, I firmly believe that training plays the most important role in sports. Firstly, the human mind and body are very malleable. If a certain skill such as shooting a basket is frequently honed over a long period of time, one has a great chance of becoming a talented basketball player simply because their mind has adapted to perfectly perform the precise movement required to shoot the ball and score. This is true, especially from a young age: the scientific community has long delved into neuroplasticity in children and how new neural connections can be easily formed in their overly active nervous system. This serves as a powerful tool for performing well in competitive games and is the reason why the vast majority of professional athletes from the Olympics started practising in the early years of life. On the other hand, some may feel that only innate ability could explain impressive talent and therefore is the principal requirement to being a thriving player. It is argued that congenital traits determine if one is well fit for a given sport and in the case of not having genetically acquired them, any chance of succeeding in competitions is abolished regardless of any training attempted. This is untrue because intrinsic physical advantages alone cannot magically yield any results. They are only a useful tool if put to use in a routine of constant training. To summarize, acquiring an innate ability for sports surely provides good performance only if accompanied by persistent and hard practice. This undoubtedly elects hard work as the most important and distinguishing factor in leading a successful athletic career.