In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

The trend of acquiring certain types of degrees from foreign countries is rapidly increasing in this contemporary time. Many students’ choices, especially in developing countries, are foreign universities. The main reason for increasing this tendency is exploring new opportunities. There are many merits and demerits of this development. In this essay, I will analyse the positive and negative aspects of the concept and draw a conclusion in this regard. Certainly, while studying abroad students may get more exposure and opportunities. They will get a chance to make new friends and enhance their knowledge in a new environment. They will also be benefited from the new language, culture and new way of life. Additionally, while struggling abroad, their capacity for survival and ability to cope with challenges will be enhanced. For example, a student who goes abroad alone for further study, has to be accustomed to the new environment, has to face language barriers and other many challenges. Therefore, studying abroad is a good alternative for the personal development and capacity building of a student. Unfortunately, there are several demerits for a pupil as well as for a sending country. It may be quite challenging to survive abroad in a totally new ecology. One has to face language constraints, cultural differences as well a lack of resources. In addition to that, this new educational environment is also maybe difficult to face. Moreover, a sending nation may lose a skilled adult who could contribute to the country. Since there is a rising trend of brain drain, a student who chooses to go to a developed country from a developing country, normally does not return. They tend to settle abroad following the completion of their study. Hence, the tendency may not be always beneficial for a state. To conclude, there are some merits and demerits while pursuing study in a foreign land. It includes both good opportunities and huge challenges for a student. One should be able to utilise every opportunity wisely for personal and country development.