Write about the following topic: The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, more and more kids are showing signs of physical ailments, even more so when it comes to weight management. There are several reasons why this trend persists and some detrimental effects that could impact the youth's physical and mental health. To elaborate, the primary factors in the high rates of obesity in kids are the lack of physical exercise and the rise in popularity of convenience foods. For instance, owing to the lack of time in their busy schedules, parents tend to feed their offspring pre-made meals and fast foods, which results in poor nutrition leading to weight problems. Additionally, modern social trends drive children to spend long periods of time indoors without any regard for physical activity. They end up becoming accustomed to ingesting junk food, staying inside and paying no attention to what is good for them. This trend will have a tremendous effect on youth's mental and physical health. For example, issues with weight management in teenagers could increase their chances of contracting chronic diseases such as Type-2 Diabetes and Chronic Obesity. Coupled with this, low self-esteem and cases of depression could also result from other kids at school calling their names and bullying them. By disregarding this pressing problem, parents are contributing to a future life of health issues for their kids. To conclude, there are many causes for the increasing numbers of youngsters with overweight and many effects that could impact their overall health. If left unattended, this issue could further harm the state of body and mind of future generations.