In many countries, young people leave their parents' home in their early twenties and go on to live on their own, while others prefer to stay with their families until a later age. Do you think the advantages of young people living with their parents for longer outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the question of whether young people should live with their parents until a later age has been widely discussed. Whereas some people argue it is beneficial to live with your parents until a later age, others believe it is better to leave in your early twenties. Although becoming independent may be a challenging experience, I strongly believe that the disadvantages of young people living with their parents clearly outweigh the advantages. I consider one major disadvantage is that staying at home for too long may delay the development of independence and essential life skills such as decision-making and self-discipline. For example, people living with their parents do not have to worry about their daily duties and responsibilities, such as doing the household chores or paying the bills. As a consequence, they will always depend on someone to do these activities for them. Another significant drawback is that, if you live with your parents, you do not have the possibility of creating your own family because you do not have enough intimacy to grow up with a partner and have children. To illustrate this, the birth rate in Spain has significantly decreased in the last 20 years, and experts believe this is due to the large number of young people living with their parents. On the other hand, there are some advantages. For instance, you have more financial security as your expenses are lower if you do not have to pay the rent, leading to the possibility of saving money that can be used for your studies or your own mortgage. In conclusion, while staying with parents for longer can provide some economic benefits, the development of independence and self-responsibility when you live independently is more substantial. When managed responsibly, this arrangement can better prepare young people for a secure and successful future, making its disadvantages outweigh the potential benefits.