Some people who have been successful in society don't attribute their success to the theoretical knowledge they learned from their university. Do you agree that theoretical knowledge is not as valuable as expected?

Some people seem to have had successful careers without any experience in university education. This may be true in some cases, but I do not agree with the notion that the knowledge gained from college is of little value to one’s career advancement. By learning basic theories students are able to gain an insight into the concepts and principles of their majors, which paves the way for their career success in the future. This kind of knowledge could not be acquired outside university, such as some mechanical theories and medical knowledge, which would become a bar to promotion for those who lack these. For instance, a worker who is trained to just repair an engine is incapable of designing an engine, as he does not know the relevant mechanical theories about the impacts of different metals on the functioning of engines or how to save energy, lowering the use of gasoline and improving energy efficiency at the same time. In addition, a nurse who does not have relevant medical knowledge could not receive a job opportunity as a doctor from formal hospitals. Both of them may end up with manual work during their whole life, such as working as a mechanic or caring for patients with mental illness. However, people who attend university to learn relevant courses would gain a competitive edge over those who do not, which is more likely to help them achieve fame and wealth in the future. On the other hand, theoretical knowledge should not be overvalued. In some cases, many theories have developed based on empirical knowledge, such as hotel management. In order to achieve success in this field, the hotel staff regardless of whether he is a waiter or a manager need to put into practice, rather than applying theories blindly. In conclusion, theoretical knowledge, especially which is gained from university, is important for most people who want to gain an insight into their majors or to achieve career success by a tertiary-level qualification, although practical experience is more important in some fields.