in some culture the parents arrange marriage for their children but in others people choose their own marriage partner. What are the advantages and disadvantages of each system?

It is a debatable topic whether parents arrange marriages in some cultures, while in others, individuals choose their own partners. On one hand, it may seem advantageous to opt for arranged marriage, but in most cases, it is not a wise choice. In my opinion, marrying someone based on parental selection is not a good choice at all. However, arranged marriages have the advantage of considering the families of both partners. The compatibility between families serves as a stronger support system for the couple, leading to lower divorce rates as it involves the union of two families. However, a disadvantage is that marital dissatisfaction tends to be higher in arranged marriages, and they often lack a strong personal connection. For love marriages, it is evident that the couple should have a good understanding and a strong connection between them. Besides, it is the freedom of individuals to choose the right partner for themselves, as they are the ones who will lead their lives together, not their parents. One cannot marry based solely on someone else's will, as there may be no one to support them if anything goes wrong. However, a disadvantage is that families might oppose the relationship based on factors such as caste, religion, or place of origin. Particularly in Hindu Indian culture, many people are inclined towards traditional values and practices and may not be willing to accept a partner from a different community. In conclusion, I believe that it is always beneficial to have the personal freedom to choose our partners. Nobody knows our lives better than we do, and similarly, no one can determine who is right for us. It is up to us to take the courageous step, especially when it comes to marriage. If we fail to make such decisions in life, the rest of our lives may be spent in dependency.