Some people claim that not enough of t he waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recyling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The number of landfills across the globe seeing a slight increase over the past years definitely results from the lack of people’s recycling activities at home. Therefore, I contend that governments around the world are incentivized to impose appropriate laws to cope with this issue as legal enforcement is the most effective way and First, Legal enforcement is the optimal method to drive public attention to one issue compared to other methods. For instance, In Vietnam, whenever there is a new legal bill passed, this information is spread nationwide by many officials. On top of this, many banners were put up on every tree located on the two sides of the road to propagate and educate the public on guidance as well as fines associated with the issue mentioned. In this way, people are aware of the seriousness of their actions and would commit to following the guidance otherwise a punishment will be given to the violators. On top of that, more adverse impacts on the environment are possibly the result of the absence of legal involvement in raising public awareness of a rising issue. To be more specific, people reduce their recycling activities, which means more chances that waste will be disposed into our living environment which impairs our air quality. On the worst side, without legal interference to stop the wrongdoings, things will spin out of control to the extent that can’t be reversed. For example, the increased number of landfills and junkyards across the globe is obvious evidence. In short, I strongly believe that governments’ interference by imposing laws to regulate how people can recycle waste at home is the most efficient way to raise their citizens’ awareness of this emerging problem. Furthermore, this notion can help improve their living environment in the long run by reducing the amount of waste disposed into living or public areas.