Parents of obese children shouldbe punished for making them fat. Do you agree or disagree?

Childhood obesity has become a worrying health concern today. Some people believe that parents of obese children should be held accountable for this development. I strongly disagree with this view because caregivers can not always monitor their wards’ diet and some children are genetically predisposed to becoming fat. Firstly, parents are unavailable most of the time to control the caloric intake of their children. This is because these young people spend a significant amount of their time in school and with friends. For instance, a study conducted in Ghanaian primary schools showed that more than 75% of daily caloric requirements are during school hours. Surprisingly, almost all the study subjects preferred junk food during these periods. This is a major factor contributing to excess weight gain which most guardians have no clue about it. Secondly, some youngsters become obese because they inherited the condition from their caregivers. Some families have extremely low metabolic rates, resulting in excess fat storage. This trait can easily be passed on to offspring. No matter how strict guardians are with such individuals’ diets, they eventually battle obesity. For example, there is a documentary about ten overweight teenagers whose guardians made an effort to assist them to lose weight. Despite exercising and modifying their food intake, only two, with no fat relatives, were able to shed a few pounds. In conclusion, excess weight gain in childhood is now a major public health issue. Although some argue that parents should be penalized for this, in my opinion, they are blameless because they are not always present to control everything their little ones eat, and in some cases due to genetics.