People are living longer. Some people think that it causes big problems. Others, however, think the ageing population has many advantages for business, government and for society in general. Discuss both views & give your own opinion

There is little room for doubt that there has been staggering growth in the proportion of elderly people in many countries. In my opinion, I believe that this trend brings both advantages and disadvantages to society as a whole. However, I find myself more inclined towards the positive aspects of growing life expectancies. This essay shall deal with the same. On the one hand, it is inevitable that the remarkable increase in life expectancy has some negative consequences for some reasons. Firstly, the ageing population can impose heavy pressure on the economy and the healthcare system as the more people retire, the heavier the pension burden the state has to carry. Hospitals will be flooded with frail and infirm elderly citizens searching for medical treatments while the labour force also suffers due to the shortage of productive workers who often make the biggest contribution to society. Secondly, the ageing population can impose heavy pressure on the economy and the healthcare system as the more people retire, the heavier the pension burden the state has to carry. On the positive side, the benefits of this development should not be underestimated. First, they are able to contribute to some sectors such as teaching, management, scientific research and politics thanks to their extensive experience. We often see top executives in their 50s doing consultation sessions and help companies function more efficiently, or old teachers coaching students for contests because of their vast knowledge and hands-on experience. Second, as most people in modern times are busy with tasks at the workplace, elderly members like grandparents can do the babysitting, relieving parents’ worries of their children lacking in moral support or leisure activities. In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, it seems to me that an ageing population has substantial benefits to society that could work in its favour.