Nowadays, many business meetings and training are happening online and not in real offices. Do you think advantages outweigh the disadvantages in this matter?

While the COVID pandemic was a terrible tragedy, what emerged from it was a new way for companies to conduct their business. Working from home was very rare pre-covid, but now it's extremely common. In my opinion, the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages, for both the companies and workers. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages. Firstly, staff members and team leaders are far happier taking meetings in the comfort of their own homes. Also, this comfortable environment can allow them to work more efficiently and perform tasks to a higher standard. Secondly, the commute to and from work, especially during rush hour, for example, was a big cause of stress. This has been eliminated by online meetings. Finally, training is going to cost less to the business if done online, because they don't need to spend money on a facility to host the training. Furthermore, this saving can be passed down to the trainees in the form of cheaper fees. On the flip side, not all industries can afford the luxury of transitioning to online-based media. Industries such as healthcare, for example, require in-person training and constant patient contact. Another example is the fashion industry, where people need to be together to design and discuss ideas. Moreover, leading online meetings can be difficult as it's hard to recognise who is paying attention and it can feel like a waste of time. To conclude, transitioning to online media has created huge value for many companies. These include cheaper training with happier and more efficient employees. Conversely, these benefits are not available to all and can be challenging for the team leaders and experts undertaking said meetings. However, the aforementioned disadvantages do not outweigh the advantages and this is why we are seeing many companies keeping the online format they adopted during the pandemic.