Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic. What are the benefit and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

Nowadays interest in unconventional tourism is growing. For example, the Sahara desert and the Antarctic are becoming more popular for tourists. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this trend. Firstly, it might be exciting to visit uncommon destinations; it could make tourists feel like they are professional explorers. They would be able to show photos from the unknown areas to their friends and family. Secondly, some individuals are tired of crowds, long waiting lines and aggressive sales tactics from guides and souvenir shops. Because of this, they would choose more peaceful places. Obviously, there are disadvantages as well. At first, it could be an expensive hobby and a financial burden. Fly tickets might cost the same as a week at the all-inclusive resort. In addition, people would have to buy special equipment, for instance, a winter jacket for the Antarctic. Secondly, unconventional locations might be dangerous. People might have to find safe places to stay, find a way to communicate with locals, educate themselves about local culture, and perhaps even learn map-reading skills. Furthermore, some individuals might have medical conditions which might get worse in new climates. Moreover, the language barrier might be a problem in unpopular areas. There are restaurants with menus in English and hotels with English-speaking staff in popular travel destinations. In conclusion, curiosity is a part of human nature and people will always be intrigued by new locations and cultures. Travelling to unpopular places is beneficial, but individuals should be aware of the potential risks and prepare themselves accordingly.