Some people think that public libraries are not necessary whereas others believe that they are essential for people. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Public libraries are a place of knowledge and are used by most to advance in their studies. They are used for many reasons such as: for internet access, to borrow expensive books, and some use them as a quiet place. In my opinion, they are absolutely necessary. However, they are becoming more and more obsolete as time goes on due to the efficiency of the internet. Firstly, libraries are needed especially for the lower class population, This is because most books are expensive and being able to borrow from the public library levels the playing field between the income classes. Secondly, many young students don't have a quiet place to study at home and thus need this public space. Lastly, giving free online access is crucial in the modern age and consequently allows students the ability to delve into their studies more efficiently. On the flip side, the Internet has made studying easy. For example, most texts are available as free PDFs, thus eliminating the need to borrow books from the library. Also, wifi has become soo cheap that most households are able to afford it, eliminating the need for it in libraries. Lastly, they are expensive to maintain and this government money can redistribute these funds to facilities that are actually needed in the 21st century. In conclusion, they are essential for people. While it is true that they have become less useful due to the aforementioned reasons, they still provide the young generation with a location where they can concentrate on their studies. Moreover, this service is priceless for some as they can't study at home and shouldn't be burdened by this.