These days, in many countries fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary school. What are the reasons for this, and how could the problem be solved?"

Nowadays, people are reluctant to join teaching as a profession, especially in the higher schools. This phenomenon has a plethora of reasons. This essay will dilate upon some of its etiological factors such as low salary and poor institute environment and offer suggestions such as enhancing the pay package and improving the infrastructure of buildings. To begin, one of the main causes of lack of interest of the general public to become teachers is inadequate income which makes it difficult for them to run the family affairs. This is because the inflation worldwide has led to an enormous increase in the prices of grocery items. On the other hand, the pay of government servants including teachers has not increased proportionately. For instance, my brother, who is teaching in a high school, often has to take loans from his friends to pay for his monthly expenses. In addition, many many institutions have old buildings and poor work atmospheres which poses problems for both students and teachers alike.To illustrate, almost 50 per cent of public schools in Pakistan do not have separate washrooms for the staff members and 80 per cent lack a central cooling system that makes it unbearable for lecturers to teach. In order to deal with the above-mentioned problems,various steps can be taken. Firstly, the pay-package of academy tutors should be increased.If a teacher gets a handsome amount of money like that of other professions including medical and engineering departments, he will love to continue his job and will do so with zeal and zest.In Sweden, for example, lecturers are paid huge salaries, thus, the teaching profession is opted as the first choice for jobs by most adults who have received a master's degree. Furthermore, the government should improve the school building and provide adequate ventilation and sanitary services so as to give it a tidy look. This will motivate the populace to come to schools to impart knowledge to the younger lot. In conclusion, the main causes for people avoiding becoming tutors are low wages and an unsatisfactory work atmosphere. Hence, in order to promote the interest of the population in this field, authorities should enhance the monthly stipend and provide better facilities for the teaching faculty.