Drug abuse among the youth is on the rise What are major reasons for this? What would be some possible effects? What should be done revert this trend?

These days, more and more teenagers are sadly becoming drug addicts. There are several factors that contribute to this alarming trend and some potential outcomes that could impact society. However, local authorities could come up with a wide range of measures to address the rising problem. The prime causes of the aforementioned trend are the lack of education and job prospects. For instance, kids from families in low-income brackets usually lack adequate guidance at home and end up dropping out of school with no future prospects. Such a poor upbringing drives youngsters hopeless and entices them into consuming hard drugs and alcohol. In reality, this habit tends to only get worse when people reach adulthood. The possible effects of drug abuse are the increasing mental and physical deterioration that could affect children's overall health. By daily abusing these substances, kids could increasingly jeopardise their immune systems and contract diseases such as HIV, cardiovascular and respiratory conditions, cancer and so on. Additionally, the youth are more likely to present cases of mental disorders from drug abuse, as their personalities are still developing. For example, research has shown that users under twenty years old have 50% higher chances of becoming suicidal than healthy kids in the same group age. To tackle the issue governments could allocate more funds for specialised social services. Health professionals could help those in need to get better and public counsellors could influence them to go back to school so that they can hope for a better future. If individuals were able to get support from these organizations, they could have a chance at becoming healthy and prosperous. To conclude, many causes lead to drug abuse and to its tremendous effects on society. Nonetheless, there are many measures that could be undertaken by governments to solve the problem.