Advertisements are becoming more and more common nowadays. Is it a positive or a negative development?

These days, advertisements have an irrefutable role in our life, and it is rising increasingly due to development in technology. Although it has some benefits, I think the drawbacks outweigh the advantages. This essay will mention some of them. To begin with, advertisements could have a negative impact on people. Firstly, for attracting more people advertisements are usually shown during some popular TV programs and important games, which this activity could be annoying and make people angry. In other words, people are reluctant to watch anything else when they watch their favourite programs. For example, any time that I watch a match between my favourite football team, I hate the advertisements that are shown in the match, and even it makes me feel bad regard to the products that be advertised. Moreover, companies try to absorb customers to their products, while customers probably do not have a need for their products. In fact, they want to create a sense of need in people to buy unnecessary stuff to increase their incomes. Therefore, people persuade to pay money and purchase their products and waste their budgets. On the other hand, advertisements in some limited cases can be helpful. That is individuals by watching or reading them can find what they want. For instance, last year, I was in Dubai for three months, and I did not know anything about the Arabic language to communicate with local individuals. Finally, I saw an advertisement for a translating application, so I immediately downloaded it on my phone, and I did my work in Dubai very easy via this application. In conclusion, in spite of advertisements can help to find appropriate things for our needs, they could leave massive negative effects on people and lead to a waste of money.