Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

We are living in a world where immigration is becoming more and more prevalent. However, there have been many controversial arguments about living in a foreign country where we can not speak our mother tongue. While some people regard it as a positive trend, I, like many others, think that it may bring along some social issues such as practical problems. First and foremost, studying abroad or being a denizen could make us cope with the language barrier. Looked at in one way, language is simple to be used; looked at in another way, it appears to be an incredibly sophisticated means of communication for us to master. To paraphrase, the language barrier makes it impossible for those who have not mastered the local language to get into the swings of things in the new environment. One can see that it is hard to communicate when we move to a new place, especially to a foreign country since multilingual communication could sometimes lead to misunderstanding about the study and daily life. Additionally, as a result of language conflict, we may suffer the scene of isolation and inferiority when contacting people. The language barrier might make it difficult for us to engage in activities as a way to fitting back into society. Not only the difference in language but also in culture. Living in a multicultural neighbourhood also results in a serious problem. For example, discrimination on the ground of race and culture is inevitable. At the workplace, to be clear, even one moment of misconception could lead to an undesirable fault in the result, affecting other aspects of a project’s progress as well as increasing the additional working time for our co-workers to get things right. Overall, I strongly agree with the opinion that living abroad where we have to speak another tongue could be the direct cause of some social and practical problems. However, this doesn’t mean that we should never take the chance to work or live overseas. All problems mentioned above might be fully tackled within our practice over time, it seems.