People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, the family spirit of watching different programs together has undergone a significant change due to the plentifulness of targeted viewerships, promoting the culture of solo streaming services. I uphold the view that this trend has more benefits than drawbacks. One salient advantage is that people with different interests in programs had to watch the same videos as previously there was no wide-ranging content available. However, as time went by, new genres addressing people with different tastes were also created in order to engage with more audiences. Consequentially, individuals can now stream whatever content type they relish without needing other people around. For example, in the past, every member of the family had to share the same TV and watch the same content, leading to lively debates among viewers. However, with the prevalence of cell phones, each individual now has access to an unlimited array of internet content, encompassing films, documentaries, and series. The disadvantage of this change is that it eliminated family movie days which used to be one of the most interesting family activities that connected members together. In other words, the rapid introduction of cell phones and the internet has made it possible for everyone to avoid movie nights. Undoubtedly, this will eventually bring about misery and dissatisfaction with watching movies alone. To illustrate, the majority of people are proven to feel happier if they are surrounded by their dears while going to a cinema. In conclusion, while there might be a pessimistic aspect to watching programs alone at times, I believe that everyone is entitled to consume the content of their choice. Therefore, the benefits overshadow its drawbacks.