Businesses should have social responsibilities in the communities where they operate. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the growth of the rate of expansion of businesses and factories, it is commonly thought that they should have social responsibilities towards the communities they're settled in. In my point of view, I completely agree with this statement and this essay will further elaborate on why I believe that they need to assume their role within the population. To begin with, local businesses need to influence positively the people living in the areas they're based in. In other words, it is necessary that they procure employment for the youth by offering job opportunities, consequently decreasing the rate of unemployment. To illustrate, resorts and hotels often recruit important numbers of active workers within the area they operate in, which is economically beneficial for both sides. Thus, entrepreneurs have an important impact on the social status of the local population. Furthermore, not only do the factories take responsibility for the employment, but they also need to take into consideration the environmental impact they might have on the surroundings. The increase in the number of businesses is often related to a rise in the rate of pollution, which damages the environment. Moreover, this phenomenon will expose citizens to health problems leading to economical disturbance. For example, the textile industry is among the highly operative fields known but has a role in global pollution as well. Hence, there is an indirect bond between the environment and social responsibilities. To summarize, I am personally convinced with the fact that local entrepreneurs have a significant responsibility towards the community they choose to operate in, and that they need to first think about people and how they could impact them positively.