Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different opinions about whether it is the responsibility of parents to teach children good manners because children imitate their parents to make them better societal members or the school could be an adequate place to learn such things due they spend many hours in it. I think that both have their unique impact on children's nurturing and the reasons will be outlined in this essay. On the one hand, when a child is born, everything he/she learns to do starts at home by copying people around. This stems from walking to talking and even using polite words like please and thank you, which implies that a toddler's first place of learning is the home and impacting appropriate behaviour and morals should begin from there. For instance, a child who constantly observes his parents throw garbage into the bin would definitely follow in such footsteps, therefore, parents should endeavour to lead by example as this contributes significantly to their children becoming law-abiding citizens. On the other hand, school is considered a crucial place to prepare children for future life. Moreover, from a certain age onwards, children spend many hours in school, which forms an important part of their lives. By the way of example, a researcher at the University of Toronto in Canada in 2017 has shown that after a year of studying in the same class, children have 10% more similar behaviour than at the beginning of the year. In a nutshell, although, the family is very effective in the upbringing and morals of the children due to the example of the children from the parents, the school also plays a significant role.