Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the present age, much debate has sparked whether a larger driver’s license minimum age is the solution to safer roads, while others argue that this decision holds no effect in reducing traffic accidents. I, personally, do not agree and thus, in this essay shall argue in favour of the latter view. Firstly, drivers of all ages can become involved in accidents and often younger drivers follow the rules of the road more closely. Adolescent drivers, who lack practical experience and, in turn, rely on their theoretical knowledge, follow rules, sometimes to a fault, but the reality is that the prime cause of accidents is not lack of experience, but driver inattentiveness and disorderly following of rules. What can be seen is that experienced drivers are much more likely to pay less attention to happenings on the road and to bend the rules somewhat. This is why removing young drivers does not proportionally reduce the amount of traffic accidents. Secondly, people are as responsible and as mature as they are needed to be. For example, if the minimum driving age were 30, then 30 year olds would be looked at as young and inexperienced. Every driver has to pass a test and if a person is too young or irresponsible to pass it, then they are unable to drive. A valid way to raise standards for drivers would be to make the test more difficult to pass instead of raising the minimum age, which wouldn’t necessarily achieve this goal. This is why However, not everyone should be able to drive and requirements do make roads safer. Every driver needs to have passed an examination to ensure that they can act accordingly on the road. People need to be past a certain point of maturity, physically and mentally and currently society deems 18 to be that point of maturity. To conclude, I can assert that an increased minimum driving age needs to be established, when drivers starting from that age are determined to be able to perform according to all statures, however increasing this limit fails to make qualifying drivers more responsible.