People who cause their own illnesses through unhealthy lifestyles and poor diets should have to pay more for health care. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays dealing with health problems has become one of the major concerns among people. There are many factors that can lead to health problems and an unhealthy way of living including eating disorders is one of them. It has been argued that people who contract diseases due to their failure to lead a healthy lifestyle should afford more medical bills. I totally agree with this idea. To begin with, one major reason is that governmental funds for healthcare are limited and such funds should be used in the right places. To be more specific, people who suffer from occupational diseases and elders who have age-related problems such as cancer, arthritis and heart disease, deserve financial support from governments. It would be unfair for these patients if such support are mainly used for those who do not care about their own health while the budget for healthcare is scarce for others. Therefore, people who suffer from disease due to their disorder habits should divide the financial burden on governments to some extent. In this way, the budget for medical purposes can be saved and help others who deserve it more. Another reason why I advocate this opinion is that this method allows people to raise their awareness about the importance of being healthy. Actually, most citizens prefer to lead a sedentary lifestyle and do not exercise enough because no matter how exorbitant their medical fees will be, the government will be responsible for it, which makes them believe that being unhealthy is not significant. Nevertheless, if people are requested to afford some of their expenditures in curing diseases, they would be aware of the fact that the price of having a long-term disorder diet and unhealthy lifestyle is prohibitive, therefore starting to have a better diet and do more physical exercises. In conclusion, I believe it is reasonable to ask a certain group of people to pay more medical fees for themselves. Not only will it be fair to other people who really need medical help from the government, but it is also necessary for individuals to pay more attention to the paramount importance of maintaining overall health and fitness.