Many old buildings protected by law are part of nation’s history. Some people think they should be knocked down and replaced by news ones. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress? of diGive reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

It is thought, many that old monuments should be brought down and replaced with new buildings, while others think it is part of the nation's heritage and culture. In my view, it is important to preserve old buildings and the government must ensure their conservation. For instance, if we consider India, is known for its unique values and ancient ideologies. This country has decade-old artefacts, that stem from previous generations. These monuments teach a lot, about older ways of living, methods of survival and prevention of diseases. Many of today's textbooks in schools and colleges are extracted from the Mahabharata and Bhagavadgita of ancient history. They represent diversity and civilization globally. Moreover, even foreign countries are curious about the sculptures of early India. Hence, it helps in nation-building and the growth of the economy in the long run. While these structures grow old, built by older dynasties and kings who ruled for ages. They deserve dignity and a place in everyone's heart for the uniqueness they possess. Over time, they are exposed to harsh climates through generations. A recent survey by the archaeological survey of India confirms, that over 56% of the world's culture comes from older monuments. Hence, it is of prime importance that governments should act to preserve every building in the best possible way. In conclusion, I think administrations across the world must pen down the most effective ways to conserve these sculptures and set aside a decent share in their respective financial budgets to protect and repair them.