SHOULD GOVERNMENT REGULATE THE FAST FOOD INDUSTRIES IN THE SAME WAY THAT REGULATES THE DRUG, ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO INDUSTRIES?

As society advances, government regulation proves a crucial role in keeping it sustainable. Industries such as drugs, alcohol, and tobacco remain tightly controlled by policies for good reasons. It is believed that the fast food industries should also be regulated in the same way to ensure long-term benefits on societal development. Analysing the positive impact on consumer's health and the local restaurant industry will prove this. Firstly, strict regulations on fast food industries would create a positive impact on the consumers’ health. High taxes and age restrictions would slow down the rapid development of fast food restaurants because business owners would not want to deal with a long list of risks and cautions. As a result, consumers would have less access to pre-processed and unhealthy food. Instead, they would have more healthy food choices available for them, which will gradually affect their eating habit. A healthier diet in the long run would help people live more productively with longevity. Secondly, strict regulations on fast food industries would help bring more attention and investment into the local restaurant industry. Those investments could potentially turn into sustainable innovation that helps strengthen the local restaurant industry as well as solidify the habits of healthy eating for consumers. For instance, a local burger joint used to be in fierce competition with a fast- food burger chain restaurant just to stay in business. Since new regulations on fast food restaurants are introduced, this local burger joint would enjoy serving more customers, making more benefits, and reinvesting in its business for better food and service. Not only will it help preserve the development of local cuisine but also create a strong sense of community. In summary, the government should regulate the fast food industry in the same way that regulates the drug, alcohol and tobacco industries in order to help consumers form better eating habits and strengthen the development of local cuisine. It is thus hoped that strict regulations are introduced in all major cities the fast food industry is present.