Cycling is less and less common in cities in developing countries. Why is this the case? What are the best ways to encourage urban people to ride bicycles more?

Nowadays, fewer and fewer urban citizens choose bicycles as their means of transport. There are many reasons explaining the situation. The first reason is the widespread use of modern transportation such as cars, motorbikes or aeroplanes. They are much more convenient and faster than cycling. You can’t avoid sunlight, rain or dust when riding a bike. Another reason is the lack of infrastructure. Bike lanes on the streets are removed to expand the car or motorbike lanes. People have to go to a narrow park or cycle around their neighbourhood, which is quite boring. As a result, people in cities in developing countries much prefer modern transportation to bicycles, so air pollution and traffic congestion are considered big problems in cities. Actions must be taken to increase the number of urban cyclists. Firstly, governments should concentrate on the safety and convenience of cycling. Bicycle lanes should be constructed so that people can ride a bike more easily and safely on the street. Parking spots for bikes are also needed in many transportation hubs such as subway stations and airports. One of the potential solutions is to provide bicycle rental services. Most people don’t want to spend money on buying a bicycle, so renting at a reasonable price is a good choice. These services should be provided all over the city, which the public can rent for short distances and return to any location that has the same service. In conclusion, there are many reasons for the decline of bicycles in cities in developing countries. However, cycling is a physical activity suitable for all ages, so solutions should be provided to increase the use of this means of transport.