Some people believe that the society should be based on rules and laws. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To live in a good society, its constitution should be predefined and people should be abiding by its laws and regulations; unlike in old times when there were large communities of barbarians who never followed any law and created havoc in the past. I completely agree with this statement, that a society should be totally based on laws and regulations. In this essay, I will highlight a few points to prove my positive view of this. Firstly, if society runs according to the rules set by the state, people will get their due rights; according to merit, and everything will be in order. For instance, if someone is betrayed by his fellow, he would know that the court will grant him justice. Thus, no one will be deprived of their basic rights. Hence, the number of crimes will decrease, and folks will develop trust in their authorities. Secondly, by imposing strict laws, society will become civilised. Meanwhile, people would know they can get punished if they make a transgression. For example, people are afraid to break the traffic signal because they know if they get caught, heavy fines will be imposed on them. Hence, people will follow the rules at any cost and this will reduce the chances of further mishaps. To sum up, to become a likeable society, people should live by the law and with harmony amongst each other. This will not only create a crime-free community but also where everything runs by the rules and regulations. After a thorough analysis of this topic, it is predicted that, by the end of time, only those nations will survive whose people followed the rules set by the state.