In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have dissapeared or are disappearing. What problem is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this solution?

Over recent years traditional festivals have vanished or have been disappearing. But does this action have several consequences? I do believe it has and through this essay, I will first, mention two of them and I will suggest two possible solutions. To start with, it is generally accepted that traditional festivities play an important role when preserving the national identity. For that reason, it is an undeniable truth that those societies which have lost their remarkable dates and their local celebrations are condemned to lose their own heritage. I do believe that one possible solution will pass through the public institutions, as they might invest part of their national budget to promote and spread their most common representative festivities. Another argument put forward is that disappearing festivities will lead to the loss of national bank holidays. What I mean by this is, having vanished, national festivities will be cancelled. Therefore this will have a negative impact on society which will feel frustrated. In this case, one possible solution should pass through the implementation of strict policies that aims to preserve the local festivities. To sum up, I do think that a society which has lost its own tradition is destined to disappear. Not only does national identity will be affected, but also the national culture will be seriously damaged. However, there are different angles from which this problem might be faced, one of them involves the promotion of the local festivities and the second one passes through legislative mechanisms that should have been regulated by local authorities. In my opinion, if societies preserve their traditions, they will assure their presence in the future.