Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected types of relationships people make? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is hard to deny the key role of technology in our lives. Because of the developments in technology, human interactions have changed in many ways. Although these changes have made communication faster and more efficient, there are many drawbacks to them, therefore, this has become a negative development. Technology has made human interaction extremely extended. As a matter of fact, long distance is not a barrier to communication. People are able to send messages in a fast and efficient way. Moreover, these means of communication are more convenient and easier to use. This is why they are becoming more popular day by day. As a result of new technologies, people are more active on social media. Consequently, they will have access to more people so they will have larger groups of friends for a larger period of time. On the other hand, these changes have many drawbacks. Although people are able to communicate with each other more frequently, they all feel a lack of human interaction because all these interactions are virtual. Online friendships cannot become deep since people cannot see the true personalities behind a virtual profile. In addition, social media invades an individual's privacy because everyone can see what goes on in a person's life. For example, there are things that people want to do privately but cannot do since their activities can be shown on social media. In conclusion, developments in technology have changed many fundamental properties of human interaction. However, many of these changes are not positive, therefore, this has become a negative development.