In some parts of the world people try to find out one's own family history. Why do people do this? Do you think it is a positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Knowing an ancestral tree is imperative. Moreover, efforts are being made to discover one's bloodline in various parts of the world which is worth encouraging. There are innumerable justifications for this trend. To begin, Genealogy is predominantly practised in multicultural countries and residents feel the necessity of knowing their ancestors to understand their traits better, which consequently gives them a sense of fulfilment and satisfaction. For instance, children and grandchildren of immigrant parents who do not visit their country often feel lost and get curious to know about their ancestors. Acquiring the lineage may bless them with self-contentment, acceptance and a better understanding of themselves. Secondly, it is important in the present time to have a basic knowledge of your origin as you might get asked by any official agency and you can get into trouble if you are unable to explain your identity. For example, while living as a second citizen or a visitor in a country, you might get official inquiries and legal investigations, however, answering appropriately with confidence can get you successfully through such situational incidents. Furthermore, family history is significantly important in the field of medicine as well. Having the basic knowledge of your genetic relationships enables you to explain the family history efficiently when you are being investigated for pathological symptoms, which can assist the doctor greatly in the diagnosis. For instance, type 2 diabetes run down in families which can be concluded and ultimately treated efficiently if you know your history better. To conclude, it can be reiterated that seeking genealogy is always a great idea which has the aforementioned positive aspects. Besides, it keeps a person grounded and respectful towards his roots.